Finding 1236569 (2025-001)

Material Weakness Repeat Finding
Requirement
HL
Questioned Costs
-
Year
2025
Accepted
2026-09-25
Audit: 412121
Organization: City of Portsmouth (OH)

AI Summary

  • Core Issue: The City of Portsmouth failed to report any subawards to the FSRS during FY 2025, violating FFATA requirements.
  • Impacted Requirements: Compliance with FFATA mandates timely reporting of subawards of $30,000 or more, including specific data elements.
  • Recommended Follow-Up: Implement effective procedures and internal controls to ensure all subawards are reported accurately and on time to FSRS.

Finding Text

Reference Number: 2025-001 Prior Year Finding: 2024-002 Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Entity: City of Portsmouth (the City) Federal Program: Community Development Block Grants/Entitlement Grants Cluster Assistance Listing: 14.218 Federal Award Identification Number and Year: 2018, 2019, 2020, 2023 Pass-Through Entity: N/A Award Number and Period: B-18-MC-51-0018 (7/1/18-9/1/26) B-19-MC-51-0018 (7/1/19-9/1/27) B-20-MC-51-0018 (7/1/20-9/1/28) B-23-MC-51-0018 (7/1/23-9/1/30) Compliance Requirement: Reporting – Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) Type of Finding Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance, Material Noncompliance Criteria or specific requirement: Compliance – Per the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA), prime (direct) recipients of grants or cooperative agreements are required to report first-tier subawards of $30,000 or more to the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act Subaward Reporting System (FSRS). Reports must be filed in FSRS by the end of the month following the month in which the prime recipient awards any sub-grant greater than or equal to $30,000. If the initial award is below $30,000 but subsequent grant modifications result in a total award equal to or over $30,000, the award will be subject to the reporting requirements as of the date the award exceeds $30,000. If the initial award equals or exceeds $30,000 but funding is subsequently de-obligated such that the total award amount falls below $30,000, the award continues to be subject to FFATA reporting requirements. The following key data elements must be reported: Subawardee Name and Data Universal Numbering System (DUNS) number; Amount of Subaward (inclusive of modifications); Subaward Obligation/Action Date; Date of Report Submission; Subaward Number; Project Description; and Names and Compensation of Highly Compensated Officers. (Names and Compensation of Highly Compensated Officers must only be reported when the entity in the preceding fiscal year received 80 percent or more of its annual gross revenues in Federal awards; and $25,000,000 or more in annual gross revenues from Federal awards; and the public does not have access to this information about the compensation of the senior executives of the entity through periodic reports filed under section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. §§ 78m(a), 78o(d)) or section 6104 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.) Control – Per 2 CFR section 200.303(a), a non-Federal entity must: Establish and maintain effective internal control over the Federal award that provides reasonable assurance that the non-Federal entity is managing the Federal award in compliance with Federal statutes, regulations, and the terms and conditions of the Federal award. These internal controls should comply with guidance in “Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government” issued by the Comptroller General of the United States or the “Internal Control Integrated Framework”, issued by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO). Condition: The City of Portsmouth did not report subaward information to FSRS during FY 2025. Context: None of the ten subawards selected for testing were reported to FSRS during FY 2025. Total subawards selected were $250,000.00, and $-0- was reported as required by FFATA requirements. Cause: The City’s procedures and controls were not sufficient to ensure that subawards were reported to FSRS during FY 2025. Effect: Subawards were not reported to FSRS in accordance with FFATA requirements. Questioned costs: None noted. Recommendation: We recommend the City establish procedures and internal controls to ensure that all required subawards are reported timely and accurately to FSRS no later than the end of the month following the month of issuance of each subaward. Views of Responsible Officials: Management agrees with the finding. Transactions Tested 1 Subaward not reported 1 Report not timely 0 Subaward amount incorrect 0 Subaward missing key elements 0 Dollar Amount of Tested Transactions $250,000.00 Subaward not reported $250,000.00 Report not timely $0 Subaward amount incorrect $0 Subaward missing key elements $0

Corrective Action Plan

The City of Portsmouth, Virginia respectfully submits the following corrective action plan for the year ended June 30, 2025. Audit period: July 01, 2024 - June 30, 2025 The finding from the schedule of findings and questioned costs are discussed below. FINDINGS—FEDERAL AWARD PROGRAMS AUDITS U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Community Development Block Grant Program – Assistance Listing No. 14.218 Recommendation: We recommend the City establish procedures and internal controls to ensure that all required sub awards are reported timely and accurately to FSRS no later than the end of the month following the month of issuance of each sub award.. Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding. Action taken in response to finding: Review City’s policy, procedures, and internal controls to ensure the required sub awards and reported timely and accurately to FSRS.. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Jeffrey Crimer, Patrick Fletcher, & Kyera Pope. Planned completion date for corrective action plan: 06/30/26 .

Categories

Subrecipient Monitoring Reporting HUD Housing Programs Material Weakness

Other Findings in this Audit

  • 1236564 2025-001
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1236565 2025-001
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1236566 2025-001
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1236567 2025-001
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1236568 2025-001
    Material Weakness Repeat

Programs in Audit

ALN Program Name Expenditures
10.555 NATIONAL SCHOOL LUNCH PROGRAM $7.73M
84.010 TITLE I GRANTS TO LOCAL EDUCATIONAL AGENCIES $7.63M
84.027 SPECIAL EDUCATION GRANTS TO STATES $4.02M
10.553 SCHOOL BREAKFAST PROGRAM $3.29M
10.561 STATE ADMINISTRATIVE MATCHING GRANTS FOR THE SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM $2.70M
93.778 GRANTS TO STATES FOR MEDICAID $2.34M
93.558 TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES $1.65M
93.667 SOCIAL SERVICES BLOCK GRANT $1.50M
84.367 SUPPORTING EFFECTIVE INSTRUCTION STATE GRANTS (FORMERLY IMPROVING TEACHER QUALITY STATE GRANTS) $870,685
93.658 FOSTER CARE TITLE IV-E $823,638
93.659 ADOPTION ASSISTANCE $806,101
14.267 CONTINUUM OF CARE PROGRAM $761,061
84.424 STUDENT SUPPORT AND ACADEMIC ENRICHMENT PROGRAM $534,310
97.067 HOMELAND SECURITY GRANT PROGRAM $468,836
10.559 SUMMER FOOD SERVICE PROGRAM FOR CHILDREN $427,318
84.041 IMPACT AID $412,887
84.184 SCHOOL SAFELY NATIONAL ACTIVITIES $401,940
84.048 CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION -- BASIC GRANTS TO STATES $399,677
16.575 CRIME VICTIM ASSISTANCE $378,825
14.218 COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANTS/ENTITLEMENT GRANTS $372,336
14.239 HOME INVESTMENT PARTNERSHIPS PROGRAM $370,262
10.558 CHILD AND ADULT CARE FOOD PROGRAM $351,132
93.568 LOW-INCOME HOME ENERGY ASSISTANCE $341,253
84.047 TRIO UPWARD BOUND $340,798
93.596 CHILD CARE MANDATORY AND MATCHING FUNDS OF THE CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND $338,210
84.013 TITLE I STATE AGENCY PROGRAM FOR NEGLECTED AND DELINQUENT CHILDREN AND YOUTH $286,483
84.002 ADULT EDUCATION - BASIC GRANTS TO STATES $230,776
84.173 SPECIAL EDUCATION PRESCHOOL GRANTS $175,498
84.377 SCHOOL IMPROVEMENT GRANTS $126,893
93.958 BLOCK GRANTS FOR PREVENTION AND TREATMENT OF SUBSTANCE ABUSE $118,627
93.958 BLOCK GRANTS FOR COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES $108,540
16.738 EDWARD BYRNE MEMORIAL JUSTICE ASSISTANCE GRANT PROGRAM $71,433
93.556 MARYLEE ALLEN PROMOTING SAFE AND STABLE FAMILIES PROGRAM $65,352
93.472 TITLE IV-E PREVENTION PROGRAM $52,477
93.150 PROJECTS FOR ASSISTANCE IN TRANSITION FROM HOMELESSNESS (PATH) $52,122
84.196 EDUCATION FOR HOMELESS CHILDREN AND YOUTH $51,849
93.788 OPIOID STR $50,000
84.365 ENGLISH LANGUAGE ACQUISITION STATE GRANTS $39,657
21.027 CORONAVIRUS STATE AND LOCAL FISCAL RECOVERY FUNDS $33,200
93.767 CHILDREN'S HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM $29,941
20.600 Selective Enforcement - Speed $23,576
97.029 FLOOD MITIGATION ASSISTANCE $16,293
16.123 COMMUNITY-BASED VIOLENCE PREVENTION PROGRAM $16,176
93.674 JOHN H. CHAFEE FOSTER CARE PROGRAM FOR SUCCESSFUL TRANSITION TO ADULTHOOD $14,380
20.205 HIGHWAY PLANNING AND CONSTRUCTION $11,076
12.556 COMPETITIVE GRANTS: PROMOTING K-12 STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT AT MILITARY-CONNECTED SCHOOLS $11,036
93.645 STEPHANIE TUBBS JONES CHILD WELFARE SERVICES PROGRAM $5,879
93.566 REFUGEE AND ENTRANT ASSISTANCE STATE/REPLACEMENT DESIGNEE ADMINISTERED PROGRAMS $5,083
84.425 EDUCATION STABILIZATION FUND $5,061
93.747 ELDER ABUSE PREVENTION INTERVENTIONS PROGRAM $3,238
93.959 BLOCK GRANTS FOR PREVENTION AND TREATMENT OF SUBSTANCE ABUSE $3,190
93.090 GUARDIANSHIP ASSISTANCE $2,177
93.599 CHAFEE EDUCATION AND TRAINING VOUCHERS PROGRAM (ETV) $599