Audit 412121

FY End
2025-06-30
Total Expended
$80.32M
Findings
6
Programs
53
Organization: City of Portsmouth (OH)
Year: 2025 Accepted: 2026-09-25

Organization Exclusion Status:

Checking exclusion status...

Findings

ID Ref Severity Repeat Requirement
1236564 2025-001 Material Weakness Yes HL
1236565 2025-001 Material Weakness Yes HL
1236566 2025-001 Material Weakness Yes HL
1236567 2025-001 Material Weakness Yes HL
1236568 2025-001 Material Weakness Yes HL
1236569 2025-001 Material Weakness Yes HL

Programs

ALN Program Spent Major Findings
10.555 NATIONAL SCHOOL LUNCH PROGRAM $7.73M Yes 0
84.010 TITLE I GRANTS TO LOCAL EDUCATIONAL AGENCIES $7.63M Yes 0
84.027 SPECIAL EDUCATION GRANTS TO STATES $4.02M Yes 0
10.553 SCHOOL BREAKFAST PROGRAM $3.29M Yes 0
10.561 STATE ADMINISTRATIVE MATCHING GRANTS FOR THE SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM $2.70M Yes 0
93.778 GRANTS TO STATES FOR MEDICAID $2.34M Yes 0
93.558 TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES $1.65M Yes 0
93.667 SOCIAL SERVICES BLOCK GRANT $1.50M Yes 0
84.367 SUPPORTING EFFECTIVE INSTRUCTION STATE GRANTS (FORMERLY IMPROVING TEACHER QUALITY STATE GRANTS) $870,685 Yes 0
93.658 FOSTER CARE TITLE IV-E $823,638 Yes 0
93.659 ADOPTION ASSISTANCE $806,101 Yes 0
14.267 CONTINUUM OF CARE PROGRAM $761,061 Yes 0
84.424 STUDENT SUPPORT AND ACADEMIC ENRICHMENT PROGRAM $534,310 Yes 0
97.067 HOMELAND SECURITY GRANT PROGRAM $468,836 Yes 0
10.559 SUMMER FOOD SERVICE PROGRAM FOR CHILDREN $427,318 Yes 0
84.041 IMPACT AID $412,887 Yes 0
84.184 SCHOOL SAFELY NATIONAL ACTIVITIES $401,940 Yes 0
84.048 CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION -- BASIC GRANTS TO STATES $399,677 Yes 0
16.575 CRIME VICTIM ASSISTANCE $378,825 Yes 0
14.218 COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANTS/ENTITLEMENT GRANTS $372,336 Yes 1
14.239 HOME INVESTMENT PARTNERSHIPS PROGRAM $370,262 Yes 0
10.558 CHILD AND ADULT CARE FOOD PROGRAM $351,132 Yes 0
93.568 LOW-INCOME HOME ENERGY ASSISTANCE $341,253 Yes 0
84.047 TRIO UPWARD BOUND $340,798 Yes 0
93.596 CHILD CARE MANDATORY AND MATCHING FUNDS OF THE CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND $338,210 Yes 0
84.013 TITLE I STATE AGENCY PROGRAM FOR NEGLECTED AND DELINQUENT CHILDREN AND YOUTH $286,483 Yes 0
84.002 ADULT EDUCATION - BASIC GRANTS TO STATES $230,776 Yes 0
84.173 SPECIAL EDUCATION PRESCHOOL GRANTS $175,498 Yes 0
84.377 SCHOOL IMPROVEMENT GRANTS $126,893 Yes 0
93.958 BLOCK GRANTS FOR PREVENTION AND TREATMENT OF SUBSTANCE ABUSE $118,627 Yes 0
93.958 BLOCK GRANTS FOR COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES $108,540 Yes 0
16.738 EDWARD BYRNE MEMORIAL JUSTICE ASSISTANCE GRANT PROGRAM $71,433 Yes 0
93.556 MARYLEE ALLEN PROMOTING SAFE AND STABLE FAMILIES PROGRAM $65,352 Yes 0
93.472 TITLE IV-E PREVENTION PROGRAM $52,477 Yes 0
93.150 PROJECTS FOR ASSISTANCE IN TRANSITION FROM HOMELESSNESS (PATH) $52,122 Yes 0
84.196 EDUCATION FOR HOMELESS CHILDREN AND YOUTH $51,849 Yes 0
93.788 OPIOID STR $50,000 Yes 0
84.365 ENGLISH LANGUAGE ACQUISITION STATE GRANTS $39,657 Yes 0
21.027 CORONAVIRUS STATE AND LOCAL FISCAL RECOVERY FUNDS $33,200 Yes 0
93.767 CHILDREN'S HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM $29,941 Yes 0
20.600 Selective Enforcement - Speed $23,576 Yes 0
97.029 FLOOD MITIGATION ASSISTANCE $16,293 Yes 0
16.123 COMMUNITY-BASED VIOLENCE PREVENTION PROGRAM $16,176 Yes 0
93.674 JOHN H. CHAFEE FOSTER CARE PROGRAM FOR SUCCESSFUL TRANSITION TO ADULTHOOD $14,380 Yes 0
20.205 HIGHWAY PLANNING AND CONSTRUCTION $11,076 Yes 0
12.556 COMPETITIVE GRANTS: PROMOTING K-12 STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT AT MILITARY-CONNECTED SCHOOLS $11,036 Yes 0
93.645 STEPHANIE TUBBS JONES CHILD WELFARE SERVICES PROGRAM $5,879 Yes 0
93.566 REFUGEE AND ENTRANT ASSISTANCE STATE/REPLACEMENT DESIGNEE ADMINISTERED PROGRAMS $5,083 Yes 0
84.425 EDUCATION STABILIZATION FUND $5,061 Yes 0
93.747 ELDER ABUSE PREVENTION INTERVENTIONS PROGRAM $3,238 Yes 0
93.959 BLOCK GRANTS FOR PREVENTION AND TREATMENT OF SUBSTANCE ABUSE $3,190 Yes 0
93.090 GUARDIANSHIP ASSISTANCE $2,177 Yes 0
93.599 CHAFEE EDUCATION AND TRAINING VOUCHERS PROGRAM (ETV) $599 Yes 0

Contacts

Name Title Type
M3T9A4Y69L33 Stephanie Council Auditee
7573938831 Greg Miller Auditor
No contacts on file

Notes to SEFA

Expenditures reported on the schedule of expenditures of federal awards (the Schedule) are reported on the accrual basis of accounting. Such expenditures are recognized following the cost principles contained in the Uniform Guidance for all awards.

Finding Details

Reference Number: 2025-001 Prior Year Finding: 2024-002 Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Entity: City of Portsmouth (the City) Federal Program: Community Development Block Grants/Entitlement Grants Cluster Assistance Listing: 14.218 Federal Award Identification Number and Year: 2018, 2019, 2020, 2023 Pass-Through Entity: N/A Award Number and Period: B-18-MC-51-0018 (7/1/18-9/1/26) B-19-MC-51-0018 (7/1/19-9/1/27) B-20-MC-51-0018 (7/1/20-9/1/28) B-23-MC-51-0018 (7/1/23-9/1/30) Compliance Requirement: Reporting – Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) Type of Finding Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance, Material Noncompliance Criteria or specific requirement: Compliance – Per the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA), prime (direct) recipients of grants or cooperative agreements are required to report first-tier subawards of $30,000 or more to the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act Subaward Reporting System (FSRS). Reports must be filed in FSRS by the end of the month following the month in which the prime recipient awards any sub-grant greater than or equal to $30,000. If the initial award is below $30,000 but subsequent grant modifications result in a total award equal to or over $30,000, the award will be subject to the reporting requirements as of the date the award exceeds $30,000. If the initial award equals or exceeds $30,000 but funding is subsequently de-obligated such that the total award amount falls below $30,000, the award continues to be subject to FFATA reporting requirements. The following key data elements must be reported: Subawardee Name and Data Universal Numbering System (DUNS) number; Amount of Subaward (inclusive of modifications); Subaward Obligation/Action Date; Date of Report Submission; Subaward Number; Project Description; and Names and Compensation of Highly Compensated Officers. (Names and Compensation of Highly Compensated Officers must only be reported when the entity in the preceding fiscal year received 80 percent or more of its annual gross revenues in Federal awards; and $25,000,000 or more in annual gross revenues from Federal awards; and the public does not have access to this information about the compensation of the senior executives of the entity through periodic reports filed under section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. §§ 78m(a), 78o(d)) or section 6104 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.) Control – Per 2 CFR section 200.303(a), a non-Federal entity must: Establish and maintain effective internal control over the Federal award that provides reasonable assurance that the non-Federal entity is managing the Federal award in compliance with Federal statutes, regulations, and the terms and conditions of the Federal award. These internal controls should comply with guidance in “Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government” issued by the Comptroller General of the United States or the “Internal Control Integrated Framework”, issued by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO). Condition: The City of Portsmouth did not report subaward information to FSRS during FY 2025. Context: None of the ten subawards selected for testing were reported to FSRS during FY 2025. Total subawards selected were $250,000.00, and $-0- was reported as required by FFATA requirements. Cause: The City’s procedures and controls were not sufficient to ensure that subawards were reported to FSRS during FY 2025. Effect: Subawards were not reported to FSRS in accordance with FFATA requirements. Questioned costs: None noted. Recommendation: We recommend the City establish procedures and internal controls to ensure that all required subawards are reported timely and accurately to FSRS no later than the end of the month following the month of issuance of each subaward. Views of Responsible Officials: Management agrees with the finding. Transactions Tested 1 Subaward not reported 1 Report not timely 0 Subaward amount incorrect 0 Subaward missing key elements 0 Dollar Amount of Tested Transactions $250,000.00 Subaward not reported $250,000.00 Report not timely $0 Subaward amount incorrect $0 Subaward missing key elements $0