Finding 1227347 (2025-013)

Material Weakness Repeat Finding
Requirement
N
Questioned Costs
-
Year
2025
Accepted
2026-08-19
Audit: 409430
Organization: Wittenberg University (OH)
Auditor: RSM US LLP

AI Summary

  • Core Issue: The University failed to report student withdrawal dates accurately and on time to the NSLDS, affecting eight student records.
  • Impacted Requirements: Institutions must report enrollment status changes within 60 days, reflecting the actual withdrawal date.
  • Recommended Follow-Up: The University should review and improve its processes to ensure accurate and timely withdrawal reporting to NSLDS.

Finding Text

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Assistance Listing Number: 84.063, 84.033, 84.038, 84.007, 84.268, 84.379 Federal Agency: Department of Education (DOE) Federal Award Numbers: P063P242023, P033A243392, Unknown, P007A243392, P268K252023, P379T0972023; Award Year: 2025 Criteria: Institutions participating in the Title IV programs are required to report enrollment status changes, including student withdrawals, to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) accurately and within the required reporting timeframe. Enrollment information must reflect the student's actual effective date of withdrawal and be reported no later than 60 days from the date the institution becomes aware of the status change. Condition: Of the forty student records tested for NSLDS withdrawal reporting, we identified the following: • One student where the effective date of withdrawal was reported as the end of the semester rather than the student's actual withdrawal date. • Six students where the effective date of withdrawal was reported as the date the student was notified rather than the actual effective withdrawal date. • One student where the student's withdrawal was not reported timely and was not included on the first enrollment roster following the withdrawal. As a result, eight student records contained inaccurate or untimely withdrawal reporting information submitted to NSLDS. The sample was not intended to be, and was not, a statistically valid sample. Cause: The institution's procedures and controls for determining and reporting withdrawal dates to NSLDS were not operating effectively to ensure that the actual effective date of withdrawal was reported accurately and that enrollment status changes were reported timely. Effect: Inaccurate or delayed reporting to NSLDS may result in incorrect enrollment information being maintained in federal systems, which could affect loan servicing activities, deferment eligibility, and the Department of Education's monitoring of student enrollment status. Questioned Costs: None reported Context: Controls did not operate properly for the University to timely and accurately report withdrawal information to NSLDS. Repeat Finding: No Recommendation: We recommend that the University evaluate its processes and controls to ensure withdrawal reporting information submitted to NSLDS is accurate and timely. Views of Responsible Officials: Management agrees with the finding. See management's corrective action plan.

Corrective Action Plan

Condition Summary: The institution's procedures and controls for determining and reporting withdrawal dates to NSLDS were not operating effectively to ensure that the actual effective date of withdrawal was reported accurately and that enrollment status changes were reported timely. Of the forty student records tested for NSLDS withdrawal reporting, we identified the following: • One student where the effective date of withdrawal was reported as the end of the semester rather than the student's actual withdrawal date. • Six students where the effective date of withdrawal was reported as the date the student was notified rather than the actual effective withdrawal date. • One student where the student's withdrawal was not reported timely and was not included on the first enrollment roster following the withdrawal. Management Response / Corrective Action Plan: Management concurs with this finding. Turnover within the Financial Aid office resulted in a breakdown in the process for timely and accurate submission of reporting enrollment changes within NSLDS. Staff previously responsible for this function are no longer employed at the institution, and the engaged consulting firm has assumed interim responsibility for identifying enrollment status changes and completing NSLDS reporting within the required 60-day period. Responsible Party - Raymond Nault, Interim Director of Student Financial Services Title - Interim oversight: Engaged Consulting Firm Anticipated Completion Date - August 24, 2026 Note: Because the corrective actions described above were substantially implemented during and after the fiscal year 2025 audit period, management anticipates that this condition, or elements of it, may continue to be identified as a finding in the University's fiscal year 2025-2026 single audit. Full operating effectiveness of the revised controls will not be demonstrable until they have been in place for a complete testing cycle.

Categories

Student Financial Aid Reporting Subrecipient Monitoring Eligibility

Other Findings in this Audit

  • 1227309 2025-004
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227310 2025-005
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227311 2025-006
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227312 2025-007
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227313 2025-008
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227314 2025-010
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227315 2025-012
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227316 2025-013
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227317 2025-005
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227318 2025-006
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227319 2025-010
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227320 2025-012
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227321 2025-013
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227322 2025-005
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227323 2025-006
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227324 2025-009
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227325 2025-010
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227326 2025-012
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227327 2025-013
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227328 2025-005
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227329 2025-006
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227330 2025-007
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227331 2025-010
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227332 2025-011
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227333 2025-012
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227334 2025-013
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227335 2025-005
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227336 2025-006
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227337 2025-010
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227338 2025-012
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227339 2025-013
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227340 2025-004
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227341 2025-005
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227342 2025-006
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227343 2025-007
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227344 2025-008
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227345 2025-010
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1227346 2025-012
    Material Weakness Repeat

Programs in Audit

ALN Program Name Expenditures
84.268 FEDERAL DIRECT STUDENT LOANS $8.42M
84.063 FEDERAL PELL GRANT PROGRAM $2.73M
84.038 FEDERAL PERKINS LOAN PROGRAM_FEDERAL CAPITAL CONTRIBUTIONS $1.52M
84.047 TRIO UPWARD BOUND $371,444
47.049 MATHEMATICAL AND PHYSICAL SCIENCES $246,539
84.033 FEDERAL WORK-STUDY PROGRAM $197,921
84.007 FEDERAL SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANTS $125,283
45.162 PROMOTION OF THE HUMANITIES TEACHING AND LEARNING RESOURCES AND CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT $30,978
84.021 OVERSEAS PROGRAMS - GROUP PROJECTS ABROAD $12,176
84.379 TEACHER EDUCATION ASSISTANCE FOR COLLEGE AND HIGHER EDUCATION GRANTS (TEACH GRANTS) $11,208
47.076 STEM EDUCATION (FORMERLY EDUCATION AND HUMAN RESOURCES) $9,503
81.049 OFFICE OF SCIENCE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM $3,956
43.001 SCIENCE $3,045