Finding 1229758 (2022-006)

Material Weakness Repeat Finding
Requirement
L
Questioned Costs
-
Year
2022
Accepted
2026-09-14
Audit: 410987
Organization: GROW FOOD dba Viva Farms (WA)

AI Summary

  • Core Issue: The organization failed to submit required FFATA reports for three first-tier subawards, leading to material noncompliance with federal reporting requirements.
  • Impacted Requirements: Compliance with Appendix A to 2 CFR Part 170, Section I.a.2(i) regarding timely reporting of subawards to the FFATA Subaward Reporting System.
  • Recommended Follow-Up: Implement procedures to identify reportable subawards, ensure timely submissions, and review past subawards for any omitted reports.

Finding Text

2022-006 Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Agriculture Federal Program Names: Farmers Market and Local Food Promotion Program; Beginning Farmer and Rancher Development Program Assistance Listing Number: 10.175; 10.311 Federal Award Identification Number and Year: 2020: AM200100XXXXG176; 2021: 2021-70033-35709 Award Period: September 30, 2020 to September 29, 2023; September 1, 2021 to August 31, 2024 Type of Finding: • Material Weakness in Internal Control over Compliance • Material Noncompliance (Modified Opinion) Criteria or specific requirement: Appendix A to 2 CFR Part 170, Section I.a.2(i) requires recipients of federal awards to report information on each first-tier subaward to the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) Subaward Reporting System (FSRS) by the end of the month following the month in which the subaward was obligated. Condition: The Organization had one reportable first-tier subaward under ALN 10.175 (Local Food Promotion Program) and two reportable first-tier subawards under ALN 10.311 (Beginning Farmer and Rancher Development COVID Relief Grant) during FY2022. Required FFATA reports were not submitted to the FFATA Subaward Reporting System (FSRS) for any of the three reportable subawards. Questioned Costs: None. Context: During testing of the Reporting compliance requirement, one of one applicable subawards tested under ALN 10.175 and two of two applicable subawards tested under ALN 10.311 were not reported in the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) Subaward Reporting System (FSRS). Management indicated it was unaware of the FFATA reporting requirement; therefore, FFATA reports were not submitted for any applicable subawards. One reportable subaward was issued under ALN 10.175 and two reportable subawards were issued under ALN 10.311, resulting in three required FFATA reports that were not submitted. ALN Transactions Tested Subaward not reported Dollar amount of unreported subaward 10.175 1 1 $ 40,578 10.311 2 2 $ 180,000 Cause: Management was unaware of FFATA reporting requirements applicable to first-tier subawards under its federal awards. The Organization did not have controls designed to identify, evaluate, and monitor compliance with all applicable federal award terms, conditions, and regulations. As a result, required FFATA reports were not submitted. Effect: The Organization was not in compliance with the FFATA reporting requirements applicable to its federal awards. As a result, required first-tier subaward information was not reported to the FFATA Subaward Reporting System (FSRS), reducing transparency over federal award activities and resulting in material noncompliance with federal reporting requirements. Repeat finding: No. Recommendation: We recommend that management implement procedures to identify FFATA-reportable subawards and ensure all required reports are submitted timely. We further recommend that management review subawards issued subsequent to FY2022 to determine whether any required FFATA reports were omitted and consult with the applicable federal awarding agencies or pass-through entities regarding potential corrective actions, including whether late reporting may be accepted. View of responsible officials: Management agrees with the finding and has provided its corrective action plan.

Corrective Action Plan

Farmers Market and Local Food Promotion Program– Assistance Listing No. 10.175 Beginning Farmer and Rancher Development Program – Assistance Listing No. 10.311 Recommendation: We recommend that management implement procedures to identify FFATA-reportable subawards and ensure all required reports are submitted timely. We further recommend that management review subawards issued subsequent to FY2022 to determine whether any required FFATA reports were omitted and consult with the applicable federal awarding agencies or pass-through entities regarding potential corrective actions, including whether late reporting may be accepted. Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding. Action taken in response to finding: Management has since submitted the missing FFATA reports and is implementing procedures to address the requirement going forward. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Rob Smith Planned completion date for corrective action plan: July 23, 2026

Categories

Reporting Subrecipient Monitoring Material Weakness

Other Findings in this Audit

  • 1229752 2022-002
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229753 2022-004
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229754 2022-005
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229755 2022-006
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229756 2022-003
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229757 2022-005
    Material Weakness Repeat

Programs in Audit

ALN Program Name Expenditures
10.311 BEGINNING FARMER AND RANCHER DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM $168,956
10.175 FARMERS MARKET AND LOCAL FOOD PROMOTION PROGRAM $166,665
10.170 SPECIALTY CROP BLOCK GRANT PROGRAM - FARM BILL $137,548
10.310 AGRICULTURE AND FOOD RESEARCH INITIATIVE (AFRI) $124,425
10.912 ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY INCENTIVES PROGRAM $81,502
10.500 COOPERATIVE EXTENSION SERVICE $45,537
10.351 RURAL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT GRANT $21,396
10.575 FARM TO SCHOOL GRANT PROGRAM $20,423
10.215 SUSTAINABLE AGRICULTURE RESEARCH AND EDUCATION $4,918
10.255 RESEARCH INNOVATION AND DEVELOPMENT GRANTS IN ECONOMIC (RIDGE) $2,701