Finding 1229243 (2025-003)

Material Weakness Repeat Finding
Requirement
N
Questioned Costs
-
Year
2025
Accepted
2026-09-10
Audit: 410734
Organization: Urshan College (MO)

AI Summary

  • Core Issue: The University failed to accurately report student enrollment changes to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS), leading to compliance issues.
  • Impacted Requirements: Noncompliance with Uniform Guidance 2 CFR 200.303 and 34 CFR 682.610 regarding timely and accurate reporting of student enrollment statuses.
  • Recommended Follow-Up: The University should assess and enhance its reporting processes to ensure timely and accurate submissions to NSLDS.

Finding Text

2025-003 Special Tests and Provisions Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Federal Program Title: Student Financial Assistance Cluster Assistance Listing No. 84.063, 84.268 Federal Award Identification Number and Year: P063P248567 – 2025, P268K258567 – 2025, P268K256514 - 2025 Award Periods: July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025 Type of Finding: - Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance - Other Matters Criteria or specific requirement: Per Uniform Guidance 2 CFR 200.303, nonfederal entities receiving federal awards are required to establish and maintain internal controls designed to reasonably ensure compliance with federal laws, regulations, and program compliance requirements. The Code of Federal Regulations, 34 CFR 682.610, states that institutions must report accurately the enrollment status of all students regardless of if they receive aid from the institution or not. Changes to said status are required to be reported within 30 days of becoming aware of the status change, or with the next scheduled transmission of statuses if the scheduled transmission is within 60 days. The Code of Federal Regulations, 34 CFR 685.309(b), states the school is required to report changes in the student’s enrollment status, the effective date of the status, and an anticipated completion date. Condition: The University did not properly report student enrollment changes for students who received federal student aid to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Questioned Costs: None Context: During our testing of 17 students, we identified 1 student whose enrollment status change was not reported, 2 students with incorrect status changes reported for program-level reporting, 2 students with an incorrect effective date reported, and 9 students whose status changes were not reported in a timely manner. We also identified that for all 17 of the selected students, enrollment status was not certified every 60 days. Additionally. the University did not document any evidence of review over enrollment reporting. Cause: The University did not have the appropriate resources and staffing in place to verify they were in compliance with all requirements. Effect: The University was not in compliance with the requirements to properly report student enrollment data correctly. Incorrect dates submitted to NSLDS may be used to determine the grace period for the repayment and interest of outstanding Title IV student loans. Repeat findings: 2024-004 Recommendation: We recommend the University review current processes for reporting to NSLDS and implement procedures to ensure submissions are reported timely and accurately. Views of Responsible Officials: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.

Corrective Action Plan

U.S. Department of Education 2025-003 Federal Direct Student Loans – Assistance Listing No. 84.268 Federal Pell Grant Program – Assistance Listing No. 84.063 Recommendation: We recommend the University review current processes for reporting to NSLDS and implement procedures to ensure submissions are reported timely and accurately. Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding. Action taken in response to finding: Urshan is currently in the onboarding process to partner with the National Student Clearinghouse, which will improve the timeliness and accuracy of our enrollment reporting to NSLDS. In addition, we are developing and implementing a standardized SOP that establishes defined reporting schedules (at least every 60 days), clearly outlines roles and responsibilities, and includes reconciliation procedures to ensure data accuracy. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Levi Powell, Director of Financial Aid Planned completion date for corrective action plan: 7/31/2026

Categories

Student Financial Aid Matching / Level of Effort / Earmarking Special Tests & Provisions Reporting Significant Deficiency

Other Findings in this Audit

  • 1229236 2025-003
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229237 2025-004
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229238 2025-005
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229239 2025-006
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229240 2025-007
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229241 2025-008
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229242 2025-009
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229244 2025-004
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229245 2025-005
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229246 2025-006
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229247 2025-007
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229248 2025-008
    Material Weakness Repeat
  • 1229249 2025-009
    Material Weakness Repeat

Programs in Audit

ALN Program Name Expenditures
84.268 FEDERAL DIRECT STUDENT LOANS $1.75M
84.063 FEDERAL PELL GRANT PROGRAM $1.24M
64.028 POST-9/11 VETERANS EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE $64,921
64.117 SURVIVORS AND DEPENDENTS EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE $8,250