Audit 415092

FY End
2026-05-31
Total Expended
$20.84M
Findings
5
Programs
8
Year: 2026 Accepted: 2026-10-20
Auditor: CROWE LLP

Organization Exclusion Status:

Checking exclusion status...

Findings

ID Ref Severity Repeat Requirement
1240721 2026-001 Material Weakness Yes N
1240722 2026-001 Material Weakness Yes N
1240723 2026-001 Material Weakness Yes N
1240724 2026-001 Material Weakness Yes N
1240725 2026-001 Material Weakness Yes N

Programs

ALN Program Spent Major Findings
84.268 FEDERAL DIRECT STUDENT LOANS $13.51M Yes 1
84.063 FEDERAL PELL GRANT PROGRAM $6.47M Yes 1
84.033 FEDERAL WORK-STUDY PROGRAM $282,668 Yes 1
84.038 FEDERAL PERKINS LOAN PROGRAM_FEDERAL CAPITAL CONTRIBUTIONS $220,697 Yes 1
81.049 OFFICE OF SCIENCE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM $151,285 Yes 0
84.007 FEDERAL SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANTS $102,525 Yes 1
47.050 GEOSCIENCES $74,595 Yes 0
47.076 STEM EDUCATION (FORMERLY EDUCATION AND HUMAN RESOURCES) $17,632 Yes 0

Contacts

Name Title Type
C2VYCKBGJBG1 Irene Gendel Auditee
6308296417 Christine Torres Auditor
No contacts on file

Notes to SEFA

The accompanying schedule of expenditures of federal awards (Schedule) includes the federal award activity of Benedictine University (University) under programs of the federal government for the year ended May 31, 2026. The information in this Schedule is presented in accordance with the requirements of Title 2 U.S. Code of Federal Regulations Part 200, Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards (Uniform Guidance). Because the Schedule presents only a selected portion of the operations of the University, it is not intended to and does not present the financial position, changes in net assets, or cash flows of the University. Expenditures reported on the Schedule are reported on the accrual basis of accounting. Such expenditures are recognized following the cost principles contained in the Uniform Guidance, wherein certain types of expenditures are not allowable or are limited as to reimbursement. Negative amounts shown on the Schedule, if any, represent adjustments or credits made in the normal course of business to amounts reported as expenditures in prior years. The University has elected not to use the 10% de minimus indirect cost rate allowed under the Uniform Guidance.
The federal loan programs listed subsequently are administered directly by the University, and balances and transactions relating to these programs are included in the University’s financial statements. Loans outstanding at the beginning of the year and loans made during the year are included in the federal expenditures presented in the Schedule. The balance of loans outstanding at May 31, 2026 consists of: Outstanding AL Balance at Number Program Name May 31, 2026 84.038 Federal Perkins Loan Program $ 197,742 The amount presented in the Schedule for Federal Perkins Loans represents loan balances outstanding of $220,697 at June 1, 2025. The University did not disburse any new loans during fiscal year 2026.
The University did not receive non-cash assistance or have Federal insurance in effect for the year ended May 31, 2026.
Net assets with donor restrictions, derived from federal aid, gifts, or grants, may be used only to meet expenses for the purposes specifically identified by sponsoring agencies. Federal aid, gifts, or grants are recognized as Government grants revenue in the University’s financial statements as expended. The following is a reconciliation of total expenditures reported on the accompanying Schedule to the revenue items shown as Government grants revenue on the statement of activities included in the University’s financial statements. For financial statement purposes, Pell grants are not reflected in the statement of activities. The University records Pell grants and Perkins and Federal Direct Loans received by students through the University as intermediary transactions, and not grants. Therefore, these expenditures are presented below as federal funds for student financial assistance but are not reported as expenditures of the University. These expenditures are subtracted from the total expenditures on the Schedule of Expenditures of Federal Awards to agree with revenue on the statement of activities. Reconciling items between the total expenditures on the Schedule of Expenditures of Federal Awards and the Government grants revenue on the Statement of Activities are as follows: Total expenditures on the Schedule of Expenditures of Federal Awards $ 23,192,565 Federal funds for student financial assistance not reported as revenue of the University: Pell Grants reported as Scholarships (6,472,475) Perkins Loans (220,697) Federal Direct Loans (13,513,846) Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (102,525) Grants reported as Private gifts and grants 60,741 State Grants 3,163,428 Total government grants revenue shown on the Statement of Activities $ 3,750,347
The University did not have any subrecipients for the year ended May 31, 2026.

Finding Details

Finding 2026-001 — Untimely and Incomplete Reporting of Student Enrollment Status Federal program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster Criteria: Federal regulations require institutions participating in the Direct Loan Program to update enrollment information and submit required reports to the U.S. Department of Education within the prescribed timeframe. Unless an institution expects to submit its next updated enrollment report within 60 days, certain enrollment changes must be reported within 30 days of discovery. Federal Student Aid guidance also requires institutions to certify campus- and program-level enrollment information at least every 60 days. The University should maintain controls that ensure student enrollment information is complete, accurate, and reported timely to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Condition: During testing of 40 student-status changes, one student was identified whose program-level enrollment information was not reported within the required timeframe. The student’s campus-level enrollment status was correctly recorded as withdrawn; however, the program-level enrollment record showed “No Record Found,” and the correction was submitted outside the 60-day reporting period. Cause: The University had not established an effective process to verify that all eligible academic programs were properly configured for reporting to the National Student Clearinghouse. Existing controls also did not include an independent review or reconciliation sufficient to identify missing program-level records timely. Effect: Incomplete or untimely program-level enrollment reporting may result in inaccurate information in NSLDS. This information is used to determine loan repayment dates, support in-school deferments, and administer other federal student-aid requirements. Although the affected students’ campus-level enrollment statuses remained accurate and no questioned costs were identified, the configuration errors increased the risk of noncompliance and inaccurate student-loan servicing information. Questioned costs: None Context: Management’s subsequent investigation determined that the student’s academic major was not designated as in PeopleSoft to be reported. Management identified five additional majors with the same configuration issue, resulting in six affected academic majors and program-level enrollment information for multiple students were omitted. Repeat finding: No Recommendation: We recommend that the University:  Implement an annual documented review of all active academic programs to confirm that each program requiring NSLDS reporting is properly designated in PeopleSoft.  Require an independent review of enrollment data before submission to the National Student Clearinghouse. Management response: Management corrected the PeopleSoft configurations for the six identified academic majors and initiated corrective reporting for affected program-level enrollment records.