The county was approved by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the Washington State Department of Ecology to receive a loan totaling $8,960,628.36 to improve water quality in the Duwamish River. The amount listed for this loan includes the beginning of the period loan balance plus proceeds used during the year. The balance owing at the end of the period is $9,023,258.33. The county was approved by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the Washington State Department of Ecology to receive two loans to make sewage pump improvements to the West Point Treatment Plant. The first loan totals $2,908,048.56 and the balance owing at the end of the period is $2,831,171.81. The second loan totals $5,320,710.04 and the balance owing at the end of the period is $5,180,052.52. The amounts listed for these loans include the beginning of the period loan balance plus proceeds used during the year. The county was approved by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to receive a loan totaling $96,844,510 to improve its wastewater infrastructure for the Ship Canal Water Quality Project. The amount listed for this loan includes the beginning of the period loan balance plus proceeds used during the year. The balance owing at the end of the period is $43,038,668.33. Both the current and prior year loans are reported on the county’s Schedule of Liabilities – 09.
The county has revolving loan programs for the purchase and rehabilitation of existing buildings and new construction of affordable housing. Under this program, repayments to the county are considered program revenues (income) and loans of such funds to eligible recipients are considered expenditures. The amount of loan funds disbursed to program participants for the year was $834,156.58 and is presented in this Schedule. The amount received in loan repayments for the year was $615,322.62. There was $0 loan interest.
Programs generated income which was used to cover expenses in FY25 under ALN 14.218 ($436,884.67), ALN 14.239 ($74,408.46), ALN 93.217 ($293,604.77), and ALN 93.224 ($8,427,530.70).
The county purchased $132.40 in protective equipment (PPE) related to COVID Vaccine readiness in FY25. Under ALN 93.268, Immunization Cooperative Agreements, no federally funded vaccines were received in FY25.
The county received equipment and supplies in the amount of $140,325.01 that were purchased with federal Homeland Security funds by the Seattle Police Department. The amount reported on the Schedule is the value of the property on the date it was received by the county and priced by the Seattle Police Department.
The amounts shown as current year expenditures represent only the federal award portion of the program costs. Entire program costs, including the county’s portion, are more than shown. Such expenditures are recognized following the cost principles contained in Title 2 U.S. Code of Federal Regulations Part 200, Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards, wherein certain types of expenditures are not allowable or are limited as to reimbursement.
Prior year expenditures are reported in the current year Schedule. They were not reported on Schedules prepared in prior years.
Expenditures are reported on the current year due to the uncertainty of FEMA funding. See 2025 Compliance Supplement page 4-97.036-12.
Per guidance from State Auditor's Office and Health Care Authority, PHSKC is reporting revenues recorded in 2025 rather than expenditures. 2016 guidance states, "regardless of the date the reimbursement is actually received and regardless of the time period covered by the request. All reimbursement requests submitted during 2016 will be reported on the 2016 SEFA." During fiscal year 2025, PHSKC submitted reimbursement requests totaling $10,549,844.60 for the MAC program.
Although the grants have not been awarded yet by the Federal Transit Administration, King County Metro Transit Department management considers reimbursement of these expenditures to be certain based on historical trends and experience. Therefore, the pre-award costs are recorded in the year incurred.
FEMA has not authorized the project worksheets for some projects and therefore FY25 costs for these projects are not reported until such time as FEMA authorizes them.
A pass-through award was received from the Washington Traffic Safety Commission (WTSC). The award documentation did not include a FAIN. The County reviewed state and federal grant records, searched USASpending.gov, and contacted WTSC, but the FAIN could not be obtained. The award is reported using the ALN and State Award Identification Number.